What We Do – ICSM Permanent Committees, Working Groups and their Activities

ICSM manages the majority of its work through its various Permanent Committees and Working Groups.

Current Groups are:

  • PCA – Permanent Committee on Addressing
    The objectives of this committee are to provide leadership in assigning addresses, naming of roads, and defining localities.  This includes setting related standards, developing addressing guidelines, and promoting systems for the efficient interchange and sharing of address data. The committee includes jurisdictional and postal representation, and members work closely with the addressing authorities in the local government sector.
    The Permanent Committee on Addressing was formed following the completion and publication of the Australia and New Zealand Rural and Urban Addressing Standard (AS/NZS 4819:2011) by the Street Addressing Special Interest Group. That group was formed in 2008 to undertake a routine review of the Standard, which had been developed by a previous ICSM Working Group – SAWG.
  • PCC – Permanent Committee on Cadastre
    Formed in 1999 to assist in the development of a coordinated approach to cadastral reform.
    There are two working groups under this Permenant Committee:
    • DCDB – Digital Cadastral Database Special Interest Group
      Formed in 2011 to identify existing and emerging technical solutions and challenges in relation to cadastral database collection, improvement and management.
    • ePlan – Electronic Lodgement and Transfer of Survey Data Working Group
      Formed in 2003 to develop and implement a national cadastral digital data transfer standard.
  • PCG – Permanent Committee on Geodesy
    This Permanent Committee was formed 1992, but since the creation of ICSM in 1988 a number of other Working Groups had existed to manage specific geodetic issues.  At various times a number these specific geodetic working groups had existed concurrently with PCG – for example GDA implementation.
    Its role is to provide advice on geodetic issues and to develop and maintain a compatible geodetic infrastructure across Australia and New Zealand.
  • The GDA Modernisation Implementation Working Group – GMIWG is to oversee the implementation of the modernisation of the Geocentric Datum of Australia.
  • PCPN – Permanent Committee on Place Names
    This Working Group was formed in 1984 and adopted as a permanent ICSM Committee in 1993.  Its role is to coordinate, promote and communicate the consistent use of geographic place names.
  • PCTMSL – Permanent Committee on Tides and Mean Sea Level
    Formed in 1979 and adopted as a permanent ICSM Working Group in 1988 when ICSM was formed.
    Its role is to coordinate national databases of tidal records, as well as develop national standards and best practice guidelines for tides and mean sea level related matters.
  • PCTI – Permanent Committee on Topographic Information
    This permanent Working Group was formed in 2003.   Its role is to focus on issues relating to topographic information (with emphasis on topographic mapping).
    It specifically aims to:
      » minimise duplication of effort; and
      » develop consistent approaches to data collection, management and delivery.
    There are several working groups under this Permenant Committee:
    • Elevation Data
      The Elevation Special Interest Group was formed in late–2007 to offer technical assistance in the development of a high resolution national digital elevation database.
    • TWG – Transport Working Group
      This Working Group was established in 2005 in recognition of the need to establish and maintain a nationally consistent approach to capturing roads information.
    • Water Special Interest Group

Previous Working Groups

  • SIDA Special Interest Group – Spatial Information Delivery and Access
    This interest group was formed in late 2012 and is tasked with providing and supporting jurisdictional input into the creation and management of jurisdiction-based data infrastructures and linking this to national frameworks and spatial infrastructure development activities. Topics of concern for the SIDA SIG are: standards and guidelines for use of data delivery infrastructures, facilitation of access to data of national significance, alignment to best practices in application of contemporary data infrastructures, and promoting awareness in jurisdictions.
    The results of the SIDA survey conducted in 2014 are now available.
    The SIDA group was disbanded in October 2015.
  • All–Hazards Symbology Special Interest Working Group
    This Working Group was formed in 2005 to oversee the initial stages of the creation of an Australasian All–Hazards Symbol library.  It was disbanded in 2008 having successfully fulfilled its Terms of Reference. The final gap analysis report prepared by the Group in May 2007 can be downloaded as a zip file containing nine pdf files (2.7 MB)
  • Australian Spatial Data Infrastructure Working Group
    In 2007, in recognition of the importance Australian Spatial Data Infrastructure (ASDI) to the Australian spatial industry, established an ASDI Working Group to review the current status of the ASDI and to develop a vision for its future.
    This was disbanded in 2008 having having published an in–depth review of the ASDI.
  • Data Framework Technical Sub–Committee
    This working group was formed in 2001 to manage the maintenance, implementation and further development of the ICSM Harmonised Data Model which was released by ICSM in 2000.
    It was retired in 2012.
  • Geodetic Datum of Australian
    This committee was created in 1998 and, after a number name changes which reflected changes in the focus of its work, it was disbanded in 2004.
    Its role was to develop, implementation and promotion a new geocentric datum for Australia – GDA94.
  • Native Title Working Group
    Formed in 2001 to contribute to increased ‘certainty’ in identifying native title rights and interests, and to develop a data model for native title information.  It was disbanded in 2008 having successfully fulfilled its Terms of Reference.
  • SAWG – Street Addressing Working Group
    This Committee was formed in 1998 and disbanded in 2005.
    Its role was to develop and implement the Australia and New Zealand Rural and Urban Addressing Standard (AS/NZS 4819:2003).
  • Tidal Interface Working Group
    This Committee was formed in 2001 and disbanded in 2006.
    Its role was to review and document the definition of boundaries in the tidal interface, with a particular focus on rationalising the number of definitions in use.